Monday 6 November 2023

Blog Tour - Tiffany Aching’s Guide to Being a Witch

As you know, I have been slowly tackling the Witches sub-series within the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett. I have one more to go (Carpe Jugulum) and then I am done. Unless I want to go onto the Tiffany Aching series where Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg pop up (and oh, it is so tempting! I do miss them!)

So, when I was emailed by the lovely Bee from Kaaleidoscopic Tours about Tiffany Aching’s Guide to Being a Witch, I knew I had to be involved. I’m actually a little surprised at how quickly I replied and went “Yes! This! This sounds perfect!”. And yes, it does clash with my NetGalley November, I know, but I feel that this would be a lovely way to ease self into the world of the Free Wee Men and the Chalk. 

Title and Author: Tiffany Aching’s Guide to Being a Witch by Rhianna Pratchett and Gabrielle Kent, & Illustrated by Paul Kidby
Publisher: Puffin
Bought, Borrowed or Gifted: Gifted by Kaleidoscopic Tours as part of review-based blog tour. Gifted in exchange for an honest review/reaction
But From (Affiliate):

Ever wanted to be witch (haven’t we all?)? Even wanted to be a witch in the Discworld? Well, this guide will help you in the right direction. Written by Tiffany Aching (who first appeared in The Wee Free Men and her final outing was in Sir Terry Pratchett’s final Discworld novel, The Shepherd’s Crown) and with “helpful” footnotes from Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg, Mrs Tick and the Wee Free Man known as Rob Anybody, this will give helpful information about magic, headology, bees, magic cheese, Death, sheep and everything in between.

Like I said earlier, I haven’t started the Tiffany Aching series as of yet and mainly dived into this due to my love of Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg, so was kinda going into this with a vague idea of what this was going to be like but, at the same time, not. 

It was just delightful. There was something quite comforting about reading this and staring over the beautiful illustrations by Paul Kirby (I will pop us below and on Instagram so you can see! They are beautiful!!!) 

I do think this is aimed more for the younger readers who adore Tiffany Aching stories (as well as The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents) and should be read after Shepherd’s Crown due to spoilers. Also, there are some footnotes between Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg that, if you read their series and not Tiffany’s, you will see the joke or a line that has been repeated (which is fine with me as I do like that, even while helping Tiffany with “helpful” ideas, they are still bickering with each other). 

Like I said earlier, there’s something comforting about this guide and I think I would have enjoyed it more if I have read Tiffany Aching’s outings. Maybe I should make that one of my goals next year, huh?

No comments:

Post a Comment